New Year Goal: Student Participation

For this coming year, I’m going to make one small change to my day-to-day routine for start of class. I’m going to have students take attendance and read the prayer according to a rotating assignment. One weakness of mine is remembering to take attendance. I also sometimes forget to do the class prayer–I teach at a Catholic school, and each class starts off with a prayer of the teacher’s choosing. I have a collection of passages from various folks, and students will often ask if they can read them anyway. So might as well turn that weakness into an opportunity for student participation in the non-content side of the class.

I’m still mulling over an option to make that attendance part of a Google form (or maybe just a paper clipboard somewhere). I may make those passages broadcast daily via Twitter or some other feed-friendly medium.

Also up in the air: adding a 3rd daily job to summarize the day’s activities in a 2 sentence class diary.

Provided I get a good start, this is the kind of thing that should keep running pretty well. I have found that peer pressure can be an ally in routines like these.

Leave a Reply

